Merging Patient Charts

If duplicate medical records are created for a patient, you can now merge the data from the two records into a single record. The ability to merge duplicate patient records enables you to consolidate all of the patient's clinical data in a single medical record.

Duplicate patient records occur when the same patient has been registered twice in the system and data has been entered in both medical records. When you merge duplicate medical records, the clinical data from one of the patient’s medical records (source patient) is added to the other medical record for the patient (target patient). The target patient record will then become the single record for the patient. When the merge is completed, the source patient record will be deactivated and marked as a duplicate of the target patient, so that no further clinical data can be entered into that record. However, images for the deactivated source patient record can still be edited and financial data is also available for billing.

When duplicate patient charts are merged, the following occurs to the data in the charts:

The system performs three data checks during the merge procedure to ensure that the patient's data can be merged. If a condition exists that prevents the merge, the system will display a message indicating why the merge was aborted. You can resolve the condition, and then attempt the merge again. There are tasks you can complete prior to the merge to minimize the chance that the merge will be aborted. For information on tasks you can complete prior to the merge to minimize the chance that the merge will be aborted, see Pre-Merge Tasks

See Also

Patient Chart Overview

Merging Duplicate Medical Records for a Patient

Pre-Merge Tasks

Specific Clinical Data Merged in Patient Chart Merger

Data That is Not Merged

Other Practice Management Software with Intergy EHR